Research Committee

The OceanCanada Research Committee includes all Working Group leads and co-leads. It provides the overall intellectual vision for our work as well as guidance on training and skills development of students, research assistants, and postdoctoral fellows.

Research Committee Members:

National Data and Integrated Scenarios Working Group

Dr. William Cheung, University of British Columbia w.cheung@oceans.ubc.ca

Dr. Nadja Steiner, Fisheries and Oceans Canada nadja.steiner@canada.ca

Dr. Rashid Sumaila, University of British Columbia r.sumaila@oceans.ubc.ca

Law and Policy Working Group

Dr. Phillip Saunders, Dalhousie University p.saunders@dal.ca

Dr. David VanderZwaag, Dalhousie University david.vanderzwaag@dal.ca   

Knowledge Mobilization Working Group

Dr. Ian Mauro, University of Winnipeg i.mauro@uwinnipeg.ca

Mr. Eric Solomon, Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre eric.solomon@vanaqua.org   

Arctic Working Group

Dr. Nancy Doubleday, McMaster University doublen@mcmaster.ca        

Dr. D. R. Fraser Taylor, Carleton University fraserTaylor@cunet.carleton.ca

Mr. Amos Hayes, Geomatics and Cartographic Research Centre, Carleton University a.hayes@gcrc.carleton.ca

Pacific Working Group

Dr. Natalie Ban, University of Victoria nban@uvic.ca 

Dr. Nathan Bennett, University of British Columbia nathan.bennett@ubc.ca

Atlantic Working Group

Dr. Derek Armitage, University of Waterloo derek.armitage@uwaterloo.ca